Sponsored by
Election HQ

First Same-Sex Marriage Licenses Granted in Eureka Springs

The Carroll County Courthouse in Eureka Springs issues marriage licenses on Saturday mornings.
Eureka Springs
Eureka Springs
Kristin Seaton and Jennifer Rambo were the first same-sex couple to marry in Arkansas ( Grav Weldon)
Kristin Seaton and Jennifer Rambo were the first same-sex couple to marry in Arkansas ( Grav Weldon)
EUREKA SPRINGS, AR -- The first marriage license for a same-sex couple in Arkansas was issued Saturday morning in Eureka Springs following a judge's ruling Friday that the state's ban on gay marriage was unconstitutional.

Kristin Seaton, 27, and Jennifer Rambo, 26, both of Fort Smith were the first to get their license. They were wed minutes later by Fayetteville minister Laura Phillips.

Seaton and Sambo slept overnight in their Ford Focus to ensure they'd have a spot at the front of the line when the office opened.

That couple was followed in line by numerous others outside the Carroll County Western District Clerk's office in Eureka Springs. The office is open on Saturdays to issue marriage licenses.

According to the Arkansas Times, a deputy Carroll County clerk had earlier refused to issue licenses. Another deputy clerk later opened the office saying she was happy to issue the licenses.

Dick Titus and Zeek Taylor were also among the first in line. The Eureka Springs couple was originally told they wouldn't be able to get a license. After waiting it out, they were eventually able to get married in Arkansas after 42 years together.

Today served as a second ceremony for Marie Howard and Trella Laughlin of Eureka Springs. The couple was married in Iowa in August 2013 but wanted to get married again in Arkansas.

The Association of Arkansas Counties is meeting today to discuss ramifications of the ruling and whether marriage licenses should be issued on Monday morning.

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus

Most Recent Stories

News Stream

KARK Twitter Feed