Sponsored by

All PCSSD Students Required to Register This Week

New database requires updates in information. District also says school will start earlier for many campuses.<br>

Changes are in store for students attending schools in the Pulaski County Special School District.

For one thing, all of them are required to register before school starts, and starting on the first day of class there will be earlier first bells for some campuses. Click here for the full bell schedule. 

All students in the Pulaski County Special School District (PCSSD), whether they will be a new or returning student, will have to register at the school they will be attending, with the exception of two schools undergoing construction, according to Assistant Superintendent for Equity and Pupil Services Brenda Bowles.

Bowles said registering is necessary because the district is moving to eschoolPLUS, an upgraded data collection system and student data must be current. PCSSD is piloting the new system at the request of the Arkansas Department of Education, which is funding it.

"We typically have not required all students to register in the past, but it is paramount that they begin to do so this year. Secondary students, for example, will not receive a class schedule if they are not registered," Bowles said.

Bowles said the district has dedicated several days and extended times to make registering easier for parents and guardians. Registration will be the week of July 26, 2010 at the school the student will attend.

The times for registration are as follows: Monday, July 26, through Wednesday, July 28, from 10 a.m. until 6 p.m. and Thursday, July 29, and Friday, July 30, from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m.

Parents should take proof of residence, which may include a utility bill, as well as any updated contact information, Bowles said.

Schools in Pulaski County School District include: Bates Elementary, College Station Elementary, Fuller Middle, Learning Academy and Mills University Studies High in zone one; Baker Elementary, Chenal Elementary, Landmark Elementary, Lawson Elementary, Robinson High and Robinson Middle in zone 2; Crystal Hill Elementary, Maumelle Middle, Oak Grove Elementary, Oak Grove High, Pine Forest Elementary and Robinson Elementary in zone 3; Clinton Elementary, Oakbrooke Elementary, Sherwood Elementary, Sylvan Hills Elementary, Sylvan Hills High and Sylvan Hills Middle in zone 4; Arnold Drive Elementary, Bayou Meto Elementary, Cato Elementary, Dupree Elementary, North Pulaski High, Northwood Middle and Tolleson Elementary in zone 5; Jacksonville Elementary, Jacksonville High, Jacksonville Middle, Pinewood Elementary and Taylor Elementary in zone 6; and Adkins Pre-K Center, Harris Elementary and Scott Elementary in zone 7.

The two schools that will host off-site registration are Pine Forest Elementary School, which will host registration at the Jess Odom Community Center, and Robinson Middle School, which will register students in the cafeteria of Robinson High School.

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus