Nominees Named for Arkansas Parks and Tourism Awards

Nominees have been named for the Department of Arkansas Parks and Tourism's annual Henry Awards, to be presented next year.

The 2012 Henry Awards winners will be revealed at the 38th Annual Arkansas Governor's Conference on Tourism.

The ceremony will take place during the Governor's Banquet on the final night of the conference, Tuesday, March 6th, in West Memphis.

The Henry Awards honor Henri de Tonti, the man historians consider to be among the first "Arkansas Travelers."

Governor Mike Beebe has been invited to address the tourism industry. Miss Arkansas Kristen Glover will present awards to the recipients and Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism Executive Director Richard W. Davies will preside at the ceremony.

The awards and respective finalists are:

THE MEDIA SUPPORT AWARD . . . presented annually to a distinguished individual or organization for extraordinary attention to and/or support of Arkansas's tourism industry through the use of media.
  • Arkansas Business E-news, Little Rock
  • Art Meripol, Birmingham, Ala.
  • Rex Nelson, Little Rock
THE BOOTSTRAP AWARD . . . presented annually to an individual, organization, or community that has achieved significant success "on a shoestring," having limited means to work with, either in resources or finances.    
  • Arkansas Rock 'n' Roll Highway 67 Museum, Newport
  • Chaffee Barbershop Museum, Fort Smith
  • Montgomery County Arkansas Frontporch Stage, Mount Ida
THE ARKANSAS HERITAGE AWARD . . . presented annually to an individual, organization, or community that has made a significant contribution toward the preservation of some aspect of Arkansas's natural, cultural, or aesthetic legacy.
  • Carroll County Historical Society Museum, Berryville
  • The Gangster Museum of America, Hot Springs
  • Reed's Bridge Battlefield Preservation Society, Jacksonville
THE GRAND OLD CLASSIC SPECIAL EVENT AWARD . . . presented annually to a festival, fair, or other special celebration which has "stood the test of time" and become an established example for the more than 1,200 special events held in Arkansas each year.
  • Boy Scout National White River Canoe Race, Sulphur Rock
  • Greers Ferry Lake & Little Red River Cleanup, Heber Springs
  • Little Rock Air Force Base Air Show, Jacksonville
THE OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER SERVICE AWARD . . . presented annually to a community, individual, or organization that, through outstanding volunteer spirit, has made a substantial contribution to Arkansas's tourism industry.
  • Dr. Diane Betts, Camden
  • LOViT Trail Dogs, Mount Ida
  • Ouachita Web Developer, Glenwood
THE COMMUNITY TOURISM DEVELOPMENT AWARD . . . presented annually to an individual or organization which has achieved substantial success in the enhancement of its local resources through imaginative and innovative development efforts.
  • City of Bentonville
  • Downtown Walnut Ridge & Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce
  • Let's Paint Stuttgart, Stuttgart
THE NATURAL STATE AWARD . . . presented annually to a community, organization, special event, or attraction which "stands out in the crowd" because of its unique appeal, media coverage, creative approach, and/or enhancement of community pride, thus benefiting the state's quality of life.
  • Bill Clark Wetlands & Clinton Presidential Park Bridge, Little Rock
  • Johnny Cash Music Festival, Jonesboro
  • Texarkana Regional Arts & Humanities Council, Texarkana
THE TOURISM SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD . . .presented annually to an individual or organization that has contributed to the tourism industry through leadership "above and beyond" the normal requirements of their jobs.
  • Dale Leggett, Little Rock
  • Paula Miles, Jonesboro
  • Randy Frazier, Bigelow
During the Henry Awards ceremonies, inductees into the Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame and the Tourism Person of the Year will also be announced. The Hall of Fame honor is presented annually to individuals who have been actively involved in tourism for many years and who have made substantial contributions to the betterment of the industry as a whole. Selected by former honorees, the Tourism Person of the Year Award is presented annually to an individual who has been actively involved in tourism and who has made a substantial contribution, within the past year, to the betterment of this industry as a whole.

**KARK 4/ content partner Kat Robinson, editor of the blog Tie Dye Travels, won last year's Henry Award for Media Support.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

  • KARK 4 News

  • KARK 4 News

  • KARK 4 News Mobile App

  • Arkansas Storm Team Mobile App