Arkansas Department of Education Names Deputy Commissioner

Published 05/20 2014 09:50AM

Updated 05/20 2014 09:51AM

Mike Hernandez, Arkansas Department of Education Deputy Commissioner
Mike Hernandez, Arkansas Department of Education Deputy Commissioner
LITTLE ROCK, AR (News release) - Arkansas Department of Education Commissioner Dr. Tom Kimbrell is pleased to announce that Mike Hernandez has been selected as deputy commissioner.  

Hernandez will assume his new position July 1. He will replace Tony Wood, who will leave the position effective June 30. 

“Mr. Hernandez’s leadership style and expertise have prepared him to be ADE’s next deputy commissioner,” Kimbrell said. “His background as a teacher, administrator and assistant commissioner give him a well-rounded perspective that will greatly benefit schools and education in Arkansas.” 

As deputy commissioner, Hernandez will work with ADE, legislators and school districts on finance, legislation and other education issues. 

Hernandez has served as the assistant commissioner for Fiscal and Administrative Services since July 2013. As assistant commissioner, he oversees the agency’s finances and the distribution of funds to public schools.  

Prior to working for ADE, Hernandez served as superintendent at Danville Public Schools for two years and was the principal/athletic director for Western Yell County High School in Havana for one year. Before becoming an administrator, he taught in Fountain Lake Schools in Hot Springs, Hot Springs Middle School, Danville High School and Marion Abramson High School in New Orleans. 

Hernandez has a Bachelor of Science in Biology and a Master of Arts in Mathematics Education from the University of Central Arkansas at Conway. He received a level 1 certificate in math, science and physical education grades seven through 12 from the University of New Orleans. Hernandez also received a Master of Arts in Education Leadership and is working on a doctoral degree in Education Leadership from Harding University at Searcy. 

He is a member of the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators and the Arkansas Association of School Business Officials. 

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

  • KARK 4 News
  • KARK 4 News
  • KARK 4 News Mobile App
  • Arkansas Storm Team Mobile App