Arkansas State Coach Named Semi-Finalist for 2017 Broyles Award

LITTLE ROCK, Ark.  –   56 Nominees have been announced for the 2017 Broyles Award, which highlights the top assistant coaches in college football. One Arkansas coach made the list of 56 nominees for the prestigious award out of more than 1500 options.  

Brian Early is one of the nominees announced for the award. Early is currently the defensive line coach at Arkansas State University. 

An 18-member  committee of distinguished former head coaches, along with a committee representing the Football Writers Association of America will select 15 semi-finalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. 

Those  five finalists will be invited back to Little Rock  where the 2017 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 5th at the Marriott Hotel. 

The winner of the 2016 Broyles Award was Clemson defensive coordinator, Brent Venables. 

The Broyles Award was originally created in 1996 to recognize Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his almost two decades as head coach at Arkansas.



You can find the full list of nominees below. 
Alabama – Brian Daboll, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Arizona – Rod Smith, Co–Offensive Coordinator
Arizona State – Phil Bennett, Defensive Coordinator
Arkansas State – Brian Early, Defensive Line Coach
Auburn – Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator
Boise State – Andy Avalos, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Bowling Green State – Matt Brock, Special Teams Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
California – Beau Baldwin, Offensive Coordinator
Central Florida – Troy Walters, Offensive Coordinator
Clemson – Tony Elliot, Co–Offensive Coordinator, Running Backs
Eastern Michigan – Neal Neathery, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
FAU – Chris Kiffin, Defensive Coordinator
FIU – Brent Guy, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Fresno State – Orlondo Steinauer, Defensive Coordinator
Georgia – Mel Tucker, Defensive Coordinator
Georgia State – Nate Fuqua, Defensive Coordinator/Outside Linebackers
Iowa State – Jon Heacock, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Kansas State – Sean Snyder, Special Teams Coordinator
LSU – Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator
Memphis – Joe Lorig, Special Teams Coordinator/Outside Linebackers
Miami – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator
Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Michigan State – Harlon Barnett, Co–Defensive Coordinator/Secondary Coach
Mississippi State – Todd Grantham, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Missouri – Josh Heupel, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
NC State – Dwayne Ledford, Offensive Line Coach/Run Game Coordinator
North Texas – Graham Harrell, Offensive Coordinator
Northwestern – Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator
Notre Dame – Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator
Ohio State – Larry Johnson, Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Line Coach
Oklahoma – Bill Bedenbaugh, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Oklahoma State – Mike Yurcich, Offensive Coordinator/QBs
Ole Miss – Derrick Nix, Running Backs Coach
Oregon – Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator
Penn State – Brent Pry, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
San José State – Bojay Filimoeatu, Linebackers Coach
SMU – Joe Craddock, Offensive Coordinator
South Carolina – Coleman Hutzler, Special Teams Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
Southern Miss – Tony Pecoraro, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
Stanford – Mike Bloomgren, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Syracuse – Brian Ward, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
TCU – Chad Glasgow, Defensive Coordinator
Temple – Jim Panagos, Defensive Line
Texas – Todd Orlando, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Toledo – Brian Wright, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach
Troy – Vic Koenning, Defensive Coordinator
U.S. Military Academy – Brent Davis, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
USC – Tee Martin, Offensive Coordinator/WR Coach
Utah State – Mark Tommerdahl, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs
Virginia Tech – Bud Foster, Defensive Coordinator
Wake Forest – Warren Ruggiero, Offensive Coordinator
Washington – Pete Kwiatkowski, Defensive Coordinator
Washington State – Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator / Secondary
West Virginia – Tony Gibson, Associate Head Coach/Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Western Kentucky – Clayton White, Defensive Coordinator
Wisconsin – Jim Leonhard, Defensive Coordinator




More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News

  • KARK 4 News

  • KARK 4 News

  • KARK 4 News Mobile App

  • Arkansas Storm Team Mobile App