Fayetteville Family Plot Among Arkansas Properties Nominated to National List

Nine Arkansas properties have been nominated to the National Register of Historic Places by the State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Properties nominated to the National Register are:
  • South Main Street Residential Historic District Boundary Increase at Little Rock in Pulaski County, including buildings constructed between 1893 and 1925
  • Charles "Bullet" Dean Hyten House at Benton in Saline County, a one-story bungalow built in 1922 and connected to a founder of the Niloak pottery operation
  • Whittington Park Historic District at Hot Springs in Garland County, with buildings dating to 1896
  • Building No. 29 near Walnut Ridge in Lawrence County, a hangar built for a World War II training camp
  • Mary Greenhaw Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church South at Marshall in Searcy County, a ca. 1900 building designed in the Gothic Revival style of architecture
  • Belle Grove Historic District Expansion at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, featuring buildings dating to ca. 1840
  • Walker Family Plot at Fayetteville in Washington County, with burials dating to 1838
  • Rogers Commercial Historic District Expansion at Rogers in Benton County, with buildings erected between 1885 and 1925 
  • Gregory House at Augusta in Woodruff County, built in 1900 from a Neoclassical-style design by architect Frank W. Gibb.
The board also listed Campbell Station Cabin #2 at Campbell Station in Jackson County and Belleville Methodist Episcopal Church, South, at Belleville in Sevier County on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically noteworthy places that are not eligible for recognition for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state's cultural resources.

Click here for more information on the National Register of Historic Places program.

Don't Miss

Latest News

  • KARK 4 News

  • KARK 4 News

  • KARK 4 News Mobile App

  • Arkansas Storm Team Mobile App